Long Time Webmaster, My NIGHTMARE With IPB.

garyopa

Note: This is the second time i post this. I posted in the appropriate section and yet someone felt the need to delete or unapproved my original post. As a paying customer, I believe I have every right to post my opinions of the product i spent my hard earned money on. If you still feel the need to use your uber l33t mod powers, the least you can do is post and tell one of your own paying customers why this kind of material is not allowed here. There's nothing in the forum rules that states that I am not allowed to do this although I'm sure you wouldn't want people reading this. :whistle:

Hello,

I just felt like chiming in to give everyone some thoughts on my recent move to IPB. I am a long time webmaster going back to the early 90's. I have had many websites and many message boards. I can still fondly remember my first commercial forum software purchased, ultimate BB. I then moved to vbulletin during the 1.x-2.x transition. I went through many painful issues with vbulletin during my time with them. Most of which are already well documented.

After selling and gifting my past sites and being left website free for two years, i decided to create a small ad-free, not for profit site in August of 2009. After a few months of using phpbb, i had heard so many people clamoring over the latest rendition of IPB. Most people i spoke with insisted that IPB had more features, was more secure and would help increase my search engine pagerank. I checked things over and noticed there was a conversion available for a "painless" phpbb to IPB conversion. IPB was also promoting the fact that they had their own portal that comes standard with the software at no extra cost. I took the plunge and purchased the software for my site.

The install and conversion went smooth at first. However, i quickly began to notice some quirks. First, I will address the portal. It's garbage.