Feature Suggestion: The ability to properly modify user permissions

ᴡᴅツ

Post created per suggestion.

Selective permissions cannot be created, especially on subscription based forums. I have a forum where it's subscription based so every month each member gets demoted to Validating until they buy new subscription. Of these members, 1 of them is not allowed to post in Forum X but is allowed to view the posts in Forum X.

This cannot be done however, without over-riding the user's permissions. This is not a proper solution for the member then gains indefinite access to the forum after subscription expires.

I am requesting the ability to deny specific users of certain permissions, e.g., only being able to view posts in Forum X, so that it does not affect the Primary Group by overriding it.

You already can. You can assign the user a permission set that overrides their group permission set.

This is getting annoying. Overriding permissions is not the solution on a subscription based site. If that member bought 1 month subscription to be in the Members group, the subscription is NULL and VOID. Do you see the problem? It can't be done and this needs to be addressed.

lolwhut? So you want to change the permission without overriding it? News flash bro, overriding it, is another name for changing it. Either they have permission or they don't. They can't have permission but be denied permission at the same time one of them takes precedence. And if you assign an override on the user it won't affect the group that they are in.

It actually does effect the group they're in from my experience. Let's say you're in the member group "PAID member." When you OVER-RIDE that permission using a permission mask, it is PERMANENT. After the subscription expires, the member still has access. You may be incorrect concerning your first statement. A change of permission is not the same as over-riding it.