jQuery vs. Scriptaculous

KT Walrus

I'm just getting into modding by adding some jQuery plugins to my board (there are tons of them out their and they are very easy to integrate).

But, IPB uses Scriptaculous/Prototype (which doesn't seem as active as jQuery plugins are). My wish is that IPS would provide an alternate set of js that would use jQuery/jQuery.ui and allow us to select which version we want IPB to use.

I know this is unlikely to happen (as it duplicates work), but it would help to be able to easily plug in jQuery modules and not require both to be loaded. I worry that loading two different js libs for a page will lead to conflicts and poor performance (jQuery has a call to eliminate most conflicts, but I have had to modify the jQuery plugins to not use the shortcut '$' which is a bit of a pain).

Or, since jQuery seems to be the front runner and seems to be very easy to use, maybe IPB could just switch over to it in some future release.

Oh don't get Jaggi started...

I would agree that jQuery is pretty awesome. I'm in the same boat where I don't have time to rewrite my code, or learn jQuery, so I stick with prototype. There are times where I wish I could take an array-like object and do "arrayobj.dofunctiononall()" instead of "arrayobj.each(dofunctiononall);" as I believe you can chain that further with jQuery, but I just don't have time at the moment.

Really though I try to minimize javascript ussage whereever possible and only use it when it's convinient and degradable, so when I get to the point where I can it won't be too bad.

Yes, there have been a few discussions about this.

Re-writing the code might be a pain at first, but long-term it would be better.

Simpler code, more functionality, a fraction of the bandwidth and (as mentioned) a far more actively developed product. Speaks for itself!

Now, where's Jaggi...

Edit: D'oh! Just seen Luke mention him!